PXR004 Prelude in Eb major, Op. 23, No. 6 - Rachmaninov, S. (PDF DOWNLOAD)


In its original form this beautiful, wistful miniature is the sixth in Rachmaninov’s set of 10 Preludes Op. 23 for solo piano, composed in 1903. The piece is full of chromaticism, unexpected harmonic turns and wonderful contrapuntal writing, with each individual line highlighted in this arrangement by the varied timbres of each instrument. A delightful addition to the Romantic wind quintet repertoire, this is a perfect short recital piece or encore for an advanced wind quintet.

Grading: 6 to 8

Duration: 2'30

Composer: Rachmaninov, S.

Arranger: McDermid, C.

Instrumentation: Wind Quintet: Fl, Ob, Bb Cl, Hn, Bsn.

Listen to a sample:

Performed here by the Magnard Ensemble, including bassoonist/arranger Catriona McDermid