PXM011 Two Motets and a Madrigal - Byrd, W/Monteverdi, C./Gibbons, O


Perfect as encores, or as a whole set, these arrangements give the modern wind quintet a chance to explore the exquisite contrapuntal writing of three Renaissance gems - motets by William Byrd and Claudio Monteverdi and a madrigal by Orlando Gibbons. The different timbre of each instrument of the quintet means that the imitation and interweaving of each 5 parts can be heard even more clearly than in their original setting for 5 voices.  The original text is included in all three pieces, to inform the choices of articulation and phrasing for each player.

Grading: 7 to 8

Duration: 8'33

Composer: Byrd, W./Monteverdi, C/Gibbons, O.

Arranger: McDermid, C.

Instrumentation: Wind Quintet: Flute, Cor Anglais, Bb Clarinet, Horn in F, Bassoon.

Listen to a sample:
(Live video coming soon - nobody likes electronic Renaissance music!)