PXD002 String Quartet No. 1, Op. 10 (3rd mvt.) - Debussy, C.


Completed in 1893, Debussy's String Quartet is widely considered to be a masterwork of the chamber music repertory. The 3rd mvt: Andantino, doucement expressif seems well suited to the varying timbres of the wind quintet, with its lyrical themes heard on each of the five intruments. A stunning recital piece for an advanced ensemble.

Grading: 8 to 9

Duration: 6'20

Composer: Debussy, C.

Arranger: Ackroyd, M.

Instrumentation: Wind Quintet: Fl, Ob, Bb Cl, Hn, Bsn.

Listen to a sample: