DT002 Six Tchaikovsky Duets - Tchaikovsky, P. I.


Tchaikovsky's most popular works are his Ballet Suites (Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty & The Nutcracker), which include a multitude of tunes that stand out amongst the entire repetoire of popular classics as perennial favourites. These six duets focus on passing the melodies - and more technical passages - between the two parts, resulting in a balanced experience for both players. Being dance tunes, the melodies often require a rhythmic accompaniment and where this is necessary, it is shared between the parts where possible, so both players get a go at the tunes.
 Included alongside A-list pieces such as the Sugarplum Fairy and Swan Lake Waltz is the slightly less famous Puss In Boots dance from Sleeping Beauty. The arranger chose to include this pas-de-deux for its potential as a duet (albeit a challenging one), and for its creepier character, this being a result of Tchaikovsky's ambiguous and often unresolving harmonies. It is a welcome inclusion alongside the other blockbusters presented here. Set contains 2 scores and 2 single parts.

1. Dance of the Sugarplum Fairy (Nutcracker)
2. Puss In Boots & The White Cat (Sleeping Beauty)
3. Waltz (Swan Lake)
4. Dance of the Reed Pipes (Nutcracker)
5. Dance of the Cygnets (Swan Lake)
6. Russian Dance (Nutcracker)

Grading: 6 to 8

Duration: 9'48

Composer: Tchaikovsky, P. I

Arranger: Pugh, A.

Instrumentation: Saxophone Duet: 2 Saxes

Listen to a sample: