PXP004 Suite for Woodwind Quintet - Pugh, A.


This quintet for flutes, clarinets and bassoon is designed to give every instrument a fair go at playing the tunes. The parts are individually challenging, but highly rewarding when played together in an ensemble. It begins with a snappy, light-hearted 2/4 movement, before progressing onto a lush, legato 2nd movement. The 3rd is a comical staccato workout, which might suggest magic or fairy tale creatures. The 4th grows from a slow, earthy introduction, beginning with a high bassoon solo, into a cantabile 3/4 melody that gets faster and faster, ultimately giving way to a reprise of the first movement.

Grading: 6 to 8

Duration: 13'30

Composer: Pugh, A.

Instrumentation: Wind Quintet: 2 Fls, 2 Bb Cls, Bsn.

Listen to a sample: